Today

Today for me, was a day like any other. I was maybe a bit more tired than I normally was, dragging all day. I just wanted to get home, go for a run, make dinner and watch my Tv shows. I occupied my day flipping between working and following a friend of mine who was running the marathon.

Then, around 3pm I heard someone mention something about an explosion. I thought “hmm wonder where it was, probably somewhere random”

right? because when you hear news stories like that, it’s never places that you know.

It’s never three blocks from where your boyfriend works. It’s never where the majority of your city is currently stationed, hanging out enjoying the atmosphere that makes up marathon Monday.

I went into total panic mode when I heard from someone else in my office that it was down by Copley, and even more so when I looked on a map and saw how damn close it was to Matt’s office. I grabbed my phone and saw he had already called. Thankfully he was fine, felt nothing more than a rumble (like a truck going by), and I could let out that breath I’d been holding in.

Matt agreed with me that going home felt eerie. Like the city was completely quiet, no one was really saying anything, and the train had a truly pensive feel. I still went for my run, and went about things as normal. It was almost  a relief to get home, just to see my neighborhood still milling about like normal. It was a reminder that the world didn’t stop. Things are moving on , life moves on. I still went for my run and tried to just enjoy being outside, and taking in how pretty of an area it is that I run around. The sunset was spectacular tonight, and I was happy I could appreciate it.

Senseless violence is just that: senseless. It doesn’t make sense, and while it might seem like a lot of it happens, and people are awful, it’s important to pay attention to all the good that comes out of situations like this. People who step up, the first responders who were running towards the explosion to help people. The police who found the other bombs and took care of them, which surely prevented a lot of deaths.

It truly warmed my heart to see and hear how many people banded together to help one another today. It reminded me that even in the face of something terrible like this, the majority of people have good in their hearts. The people (person, they still don’t know) who did this deserve to burn in hell, in my opinion. But thankfully, for every one person who has the desire to kill and hurt others, there are countless others who will step up and perform good deeds.

We’ll see how this turns out, and whether it was one person, or a dozen people. Whether it was a political statement, the result of mental illness, a religious hate crime, or something completely different. No matter what, their nature is cruel, and they deserve whatever punishment they get. But I’m thankful to live in a world where in the face of adversary, the majority of people band together and help one another.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment